Law is a system of rules and guidelines which are enforced through social institutions to govern behavior, wherever possible. Laws are made by governments, and nowadays more specifically, by parliaments. It shapes politics, economics and society in numerous ways and serves as a social mediator of relations between people.
The Greek philosopher Aristotle declared, “The rule of law is better than the rule of any individual”.

Main Courses of Law :

1. Master of Laws (LL.M)
2. B.A., LL.B. (Hons.)
3. M.Phil (Master of Philosophy)
4. Ph.D. – Doctor of Philosophy
5. LL.D. – Doctor of Laws
6. L.L.M – Master of Laws
7. Master of Comparative Law (M.C.L.)
8. Diploma in Taxation Laws
9. Master in Labour Laws and Labour Welfare (MLL & LW)
10.P G Diploma in Cyber Law
11.Bachelor of Policy Science B.P.Sc.(Hons.)
12.Doctor of Civil Laws (D.C.L.)
13.Postgraduate Diploma Course in Securities Law

Eligibility :

  • B.A. L.L.B: This is a 5-year course and the students can pursue this course after  passing Class 12.
  • L.L.B.: This is a 3-year course, open for graduates.
  • L.L.M.: This is a postgraduate course in Law. The duration of the course is  2year. Students can pursue this course after completing B.A. L.L.B. or L.L.B.
  • In addition to LL.B. degree, many universities and institutes also offer other diploma courses in several disciplines of law, including Administrative Law, International Law, Labor Laws, Tax Laws and Corporate Laws.

Top Law Colleges :

Rank College Name City Total Seats cut-off
1 NLSIU, (Est: 1988) Bangalore Seats: 80 Ent.test
2 NALSAR, (Est: 1998) Hyderabad Seats: 80 Ent.test
3 NLIU, (Est: 1997) Bhopal Seats: 80 Ent.test
4 Symbiosis Law College, (Est: 1977) Pune Seats: 200 Ent.test
5 ILS Law College,(Est: 1924) Pune Seats:240 Merit
6 Faculty of Law, BHU (Est: 1916) Banaras Seats:275 Ent.test
7 Faculty of Law, (Est: 1924) Delhi Seats:1500 Ent.test
8 Government Law College Mumbai Seats:___ Ent.test
9 Faculty of Law,Univ.(Est: 1976) Chandigarh Seats:360 Ent.test
10 Amity Law School,(Est: 1999) Delhi Seats:80 60 %
11 University Law College,(Est: 1948) Bangalore Seats: 80 85%
12 Uni. Institute of Legal Studies,(Est: 1956) Chandigarh Seats:150 Ent.test
13 Bharati Vidyapeeth  New Law,(Est:1983) Pune Seats:40 Ent.test
14 KLE Society’s Law College,(Est: 1976) Bangalore Seats:115 Written
15 Faculty of Law, Lucknow Univ.,(Est: 1921) Lucknow Seats:320 Ent.test
16 University College of Law,(Est: 1918) Hyderabad Seats:160 written
17 Army Institute of Law,(Est: 1999) Mohali Seats:80 Ent.test
18 Gopaldas Jamatmal Advani Law,(Est:1977) Mumbai Seats:320 Ent.test
19 MS Ramaiah College of Law,(Est:1995) Bangalore Seats:70 55%
20 Bangalore Inst. of Legal Studies,(Est:1993) Bangalore Seats:80 60%-70%